Utpal Borpujari

December 14, 2009

Expert committees to fine tune IFFI, National Film Awards

By Utpal Borpujari

The Information & Broadcasting Ministry has constituted two Expert Committees to recommend ways to improve the way the National Film Awards (NFA) the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) are conducted.

The Expert Committee on NFA consists of Shyam Benegal, Ashoke Vishwanathan, Rajiv Mehrotra, Vishal Bhardwaj, Nagesh Kukunoor, Mohan Agashe, Jahnu Barua, Shaji N Karun, Sai Paranjape, Sharmila Tagore and Waheeda Rehman.  

The Expert Committee on IFFI comprises Govind Nihalani, Karan Johar, Pritish Nandy, Prasoon Joshi, Kamal Haasan, A K Bir, Laxmikant Shetgaonkar, Maharashtra MLC C S Sapra, Shabana Azmi, Pooja Shetty Deora, Kishwar Desai, Maithili Rao and Nandita Das.

While I&B Ministry’s Joint Secretary (Films) will be the member secretary and the Director of the Directorate of Film Festival will be a member of both the panels, the IFFI expert committee will also consist of the Goa Chief Secretary.

The first committee will make recommendations regarding “upgradation” of NFA and the National Film Awards for Feature, Non-Feature and Best writing on Cinema and the Dada Saheb Phalke Award, an official announcement said.

The second will recommend how to improve IFFI to match other reputed international festivals and also changes to be made in the selection of Indian Panorama films.

I&B Minister Ambika Soni had announced at the opening ceremony of the 40th IFFI on November 23 in Goa that such an expert committee for IFFI was being set up. She had earlier spoken about the need to “reinvent” the NFA to keep up with the major changes in the filmmaking technology.

(Published in Deccan Herald, www.deccanherald.com, www.deccanheraldepaper.com, 13-12-2009)


Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.